Beginner Guide to Chakras

Happy Monday, Everyone!

“ The things that make me different are the things that make me. -Benjamin Hoff

My faith has always been an upward journey for me. Although I was baptized Catholic, I have spent the last four years of my undergraduate degree studying religions, whether it is in class or during my personal time. I have learned some amazing things about religions, and I have learned so much about my views. 

I have spent the last two years learning about chakras, auras, energy work, astrology, and so much more. This has been an amazing journey in my spiritual growth, so I figured that it is time to share it. 

So, as Benjamin Hoff said, this is what I love, and although it isn’t the same as everyone else, it is me. So, let’s begin this journey by talking about beautiful things called CHAKRAS.

You may be wondering what Chakras are. And I am here to tell you. Chakra is a Sanskrit word meaning “wheel.” These “wheels” are the energetic points of your body. There are seven main chakras on your body, although other practices show nine chakras. In this post, I am going to speak about the seven main chakras. I will briefly describe each chakra and provide examples of an overactive chakras, balanced chakras, and underactive chakras. 


This is the Crown Chakra. It is placed on the crown of your head. The Chakra represents wisdom and connection to the universe and self-realization. The colour can be seen differently for each person, but it is usually multi-colour or violet.

Overactive Sahasra is usually when someone is intellectualizing things too much. They are generally so focused on knowing everything that they do not just accept things.

Underactive Sahasra is a person who is unaware of spirituality. Does not experience, feel or believe in the existence of energy and spirituality. 

Balanced Sahasra is a person who is open-minded and aware of spirituality and energy. 


This is the Third Eye Chakra. It is placed between your eyebrows on the center of your forehead. The Chakra represents insight and visualizations. This Chakra is usually viewed as indigo.

Overactive Ajna is when someone is lost in a fantasy world. They are unable to focus on reality and tend to always be in another world. 

Underactive Ajna people usually rely on other people’s opinions and are unable to think for themselves. They tend to be indecisive. 

Balanced Ajna is someone who has very powerful intuition and can focus, meditate, and control their thoughts. They also are usually not very attracted to material things.


This is the Throat Chakra. It is located in your throat. The Chakra represents self-expression and speech. This Chakra is usually viewed as blue.

Overactive Vishuddha is someone who speaks too much and potentially someone who speaks very domineering. 

Underactive Vishuddha is usually someone who does not speak their mind, does not express themselves, or potentially someone who is seen as shy or introverted. 

Balanced Vishuddha is someone who is seen as vocally confident, can express themselves, and usually more creative and artistic.


This is the Heart Chakra. It is located in the center of your chest by your heart. This Chakra represents love, kindness, and affection. This is not just romantic. It is also strongly related to empathy. This Chakra is usually viewed as green. 

Overactive Anahata is a person who suffocates people with love. Usually, a super clingy person that wants to express as much love as possible.

Underactive Anahata is a person who is very cold and distant. Usually, a person with lots of walls up and very closed off from other people. 

Balanced Anahata is a person who is very empathetic towards other people, creatures, and situations. They are usually very nurturing and optimistic. 


This is the Solar plex or Navel Chakra. It is located about an inch above the navel. This Chakra represents self-awareness. The Chakra is usually viewed as yellow. 

Overactive Manipura is a very aggressive and attention-seeking person. They usually need to have control over other people and maybe highly critical of others. 

Underactive Manipura is someone who is very passive and indecisive. They do not know what they want and will rely on other people’s opinions too much.

Balanced Manipura is someone who knows their self-worth, very confident, and has high self-esteem. They usually have strong self-discipline. 


This is the Sacral Chakra. It is located below your belly button. This Chakra represents sexuality, creativity, and emotions. It is usually viewed as orange.

Overactive Svadhishthana is a person who experiences emotion strong emotions all of the time. They are usually contently endeavoured in art and are easily tempted for additions.

Underactive Svadhishthana is someone who shares very little emotions, passion, or creativity. They are usually very is robot-like people that just don’t really care about things.

Balanced Svadhishthana is someone who is extremely compassionate and passionate about things. They are usually very intuitive. 


This is the Root Chakra. It is located at the base of your spine. This Chakra represents security, safety, and the present moment.  It is usually viewed as red.

Overactive Muladhara is someone who is very focused on the material world. They are very materialist, possessive, and tend to be greedy. 

Underactive Muladhara is someone who is highly insecure and easily agitated. They tend to be very anxious and scared.

Balanced Muladhara is someone who is very grounded and aware. They are usually more independent and secure.

I hope this helps you understand your Chakras better. If you do have an overactive or underactive chakra, then you can meditate, use crystals, and much more to help balance your chakras. 

I hope you all have a wonderful week.

-Caitlin ❤

Photo by Carole Smile on Unsplash

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s